What “Season” Is It?

Ecclesiastes 3:1 (KJV) “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:”

The Bible contains much information concerning days, seasons, and times. Ecclesiastes chapter 3 mentions some of them. Four years ago I felt compelled to persuade people to reelect President Bush. Mom said she didn’t feel the urgency like she had during his first election. We discussed possible reasons we didn’t have that common feeling we usually had. Mom passed away before getting to cast her vote in 2004. Illinois has a history of dead people voting and I knew my mother wouldn’t want anyone using her ballot. So, I made sure her name was removed from our county’s election registry.

While talking with Mom during 2004; I explained my desire for Americans to have more time to make personal decisions about eternity. I felt even more urgency in supporting Mike Huckabee than I had President Bush. I joined different forums trying to persuade others. Like many Huckabee supporters, for the first time ever instead of spending money on selfishness; we gave up some needs and many of our wants for our country’s future. We gave money to an individual campaign and spent our own money for bumper stickers, signs, buttons, flyers, donating for the Huckabee banner flyovers, etc. We started blogs, posted on various news sites, wrote letters to editors, became Rangers, made telephone calls, and enlisted in HucksArmy. We proudly wore HucksArmy and Huckabee T-shirts, buttons, and hats every chance we had. Like many others; I gave it my all.

Years ago an evangelist told our church if God doesn’t judge America for her actions; He owes Sodom and Gomorrah an apology. Fellow Americans had a chance to choose a leader willing to champion the godly principles upon which America was founded. Unfortunately, they made the wrong choice. God is a God of love and mercy; but He is also a God of justice. How much more can we expect Him to overlook? Whether God gives America another chance or brings judgment soon; remains to be seen. Although I know America deserves justice; I’ll be praying for mercy.

Back to the question, “What season is it?”

1 Thessalonians 5:1-6 (KJV) “But of the times and the seasons, brethren, ye have no need that I write unto you. 2 For yourselves know perfectly that the day of the Lord so cometh as a thief in the night. 3 For when they shall say, Peace and safety; then sudden destruction cometh upon them, as travail upon a woman with child; and they shall not escape. 4 But ye, brethren, are not in darkness, that that day should overtake you as a thief6 Therefore let us not sleep, as do others; but let us watch and be sober.”

Those of us that study our Bibles know we are in the last days. We are watching many signs being fulfilled. Jesus described some of the signs of His second coming in Matthew 24, Luke 21, and Matthew 13. There are more signs throughout the Bible. Although the word “Rapture” is not in the Bible; the event itself is. Rapture means “The transporting of a person from one place to another, especially to heaven.” I believe in the Pre-Tribulation Rapture. God tells us to watch. I’m watching and expecting to be going home soon. 1 Thessalonians 4:16-17 (KJV) “For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: 17 Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.I will continue fighting until I’m gone.

I do not envy those that will be left behind.

Published in: on March-06:00bThu, 06 Mar 2008 23:54:31 -0600000000pmThu, 06 Mar 2008 23:54:31 -060008 4, 2008 at 11:54 pm  Comments (2)